I've been wanting to break into ultras since I realized I'm a bit too slow and a bit too lazy to really push to make that Boston qualifying time for road racing. On the other hand, I really enjoy long runs so I can catch up on a weeks worth of podcasts. So, this year I decided it was time to make the jump to ultras. If you can't run fast, you might as well run far.
It also helps that I've got some manic inspiring folks like David Li to make ultras seem like the fun thing to do.
I picked the Vermont 50k. I wanted to jump straight to a 50 miler, but just didn't think I'd have the time to get trained up for it. So, baby ultra it was!
I picked Vermont because I was born there, lived there until 1990, and hadn't been back since. What better way to see the home state then to run around in it for a few hours?
Goals: Finish the race, and beat 6 hours.
Strava map
The Vermont 50 miler is unusual in that it's a combination mountain bike and running event. The bikers and the 50 milers have a bunch of waves that start at 6 am. Us lucky 50kers get to start at 8:00 am, which means it's not crowded and there is plenty of coffee and bagels left for us!
I spent the morning and race brief chatting up a couple of old 50k veterans, who came out from Ohio for their 4 or 5 go at the race. I definitely got the impression I was the only fool who came out all the way from San Francisco.
Once the Mike Silverman, the excellent race director, gave the morning brief, we headed out into the fog to hit the head and wander around until the race started. Always the most awkward part of any event.
The first couple miles were on paved road, nice and easy as you run away from the ski resort and up into a residential area. Everyone was feeling pretty chatty and it was a nice, social start to the race. I walked the first hill, which was my strategy for the whole race.
It stayed foggy and hilly right through the first aid station. Here's a picture of some cows.
I hit Coon Cub, the first aid station, at mile 4.2. I grabbed some Gatorade and kept right on pumping.
At this point, we were on our first true trail. It was great to be up in the woods, and the fog was burning off nicely. At the next aid station, I took some water and more sports drink. No food yet, but they had a good spread at the stations.
The next few miles were dirt roads and trail. The New England fall views were looking good, and the leaves were looking pretty damn nice. This appreciation of the views was clearly a sign I was tired yet.
The next few miles are more of the same, a lot of running through hills, chatting with folks, and keeping on keeping on.
The highlight of the course had to be the portion around mile 11, where the runners split off from the bikers for a few miles. It was very meditative.
The toughest part of the race was mile 28 through the end. The race got hot, around 80 something degrees, and the miles were starting to get to me. 28 through 30 were all uphill, which was some tough walking and dodging bikes.
But the last mile was a good solid downhill, along an old ski slope. It was nice to get some speed, but the downhill was burning my calves.
I kicked through the finish line, and was happy to see girlfriend Kathryn and my parents, who made for a great support crew at the end of the line.
All in all, a great, well run event. I'd do it again if I lived on the east coast, but I think I'll be doing the next race closer to home.
Podcasts:
Oddly enough for my first post, no podcasts. The race does not allow them, due to the shared trails with the bikers. But rest assured the next post will have some podcast reviews.

.jpg)

